The beginning can be traced back to the summer of 1891. On the day of remembrance of saint apostles Peter and Paul the people were invited to provide the material support for the building of a new church. At the time it was hard to believe that something like that might be possible in near future, but the necessary resources were collected within a year. The land was given for free. The donation of 5,000 thousand roubles was collected. Two thousand were sent by Pobedonoscev, chief procurator of the St Synod. The building materials were also found.
On 9 July 1892, Highly Blessed Bishop Arseny of Riga and Mitava consecrated the place of building and the laying of foundations of the church. The famous architect Lunskis calculated the architecture design and estimations, and prepared the construction documentation free of charge. Under his supervision the construction was performed quickly and in good quality.
The church was built in a year. It stood in a picturesque place, surrounded by ancient oak trees. Opposite it was the building of the Sulphide Water Administration.
Among other very significant events in the history of this church, welcome event of the holy icons should be noted. The icons were sent to Kemeri from the Holy Athos Mountain in Greece. The celebration took place on 10 July 1894. This day three icons were lifted by the holy hands of the Ruler: icon of Our Lady "Quick Helper", Our Lady of Iberia and the icon of the Great Martyr and Healer Panteleimon. The particles of the holy relics of the patrons of God - Panteleimon, unmercenaries Cosma and Damian - were locked in the icons.
More than hundred years have passed since that time. Services were held in the church throughout all these years. A great influx of the believers could be observed after the war, when Kemeri became a treatment facility known in the whole USSR. Resort was well known and developed its unique healing capacities.
Today the church is in a good condition and is the Orthodox centre of Kemeri and the surrounding area.